Kiama Public School logo

Kiama Public School

Kiama Public School

Let Your Deeds Shine

Telephone02 4232 1471

School Term Dates

School Terms and Public Holidays - NSW Government Schools 2017:

2017 NSW School Holidays and Term Dates

Period Start  Finish  Length
Term 1  Monday, 30 January 2017  Friday, 07 April 2017  10 weeks
School Holidays  Saturday 8 April 2017  Tuesday 25 April 2017  
Term 2  Wednesday, 26 April 2017  Friday, 30 June 2017   9.5 weeks
School Holidays  Saturday 1 July 2017  Monday 17 July 2017  
Term 3  Tuesday, 18 July 2017  Friday, 22 September 2017   9.5 weeks
School Holidays  Saturday 23 September 2017  Sunday 8 October 2017  
Term 4*  Monday, 09 October 2017  Friday, 15 December 2017   10 weeks
School Holidays  Saturday, 16 December 2017  Monday, 29 January 2018

School Development Days:

For many schools, the first day of each of Terms 1, 2 and 3 and the last two days of Term 4 are School Staff Development Days and thus are student free days (ie. students do not attend school as there is no supervision available). On occasion, KPS staff will participate in evening training sessions in lieu of Staff Development Days as outlined above - we will always notify the school community of these end/start of Term date changes via the school Newsletter and media channels. Eg. last day for KPS students in 2017 is Thursday, 14 December (Friday 15 December is a Pupil Free Day).

Parents need to make alternative arrangements for their children on these days as staff members engage in professional development activities. 

Sometimes these activities are conducted at a different venue. School administrative support staff (SASS) members may be involved in our school-based development on site or at another venue on separate topics.  This could affect office hours.


NSW Public Holidays 2017-2019 (as provided by NSW Government Industrial Relations website):





New Year's Day

Sunday, 1 January

Monday, 1 January

 Tuesday, 1 January

3 Additional Day

Monday, 2 January



2 Australia Day

Thursday, 26 January

Friday, 26 January

 Monday, 28 January

Good Friday

Friday, 14 April

Friday, 30 March

 Friday, 19 April

Easter Saturday - the Saturday following Good Friday

Saturday, 15 April

Saturday, 31 March

 Saturday, 20 April

Easter Sunday

Sunday, 16 April

Sunday, 1 April

 Sunday, 21 April

Easter Monday

Monday, 17 April

Monday, 2 April

 Monday, 22 April

Anzac Day

Tuesday, 25 April

Wednesday, 25 April

 Thursday, 25 April

Queen's Birthday

Monday, 12 June

Monday, 11 June

 Monday, 10 June

1 Bank Holiday

Monday, 7 August

Monday, 6 August

 Monday, 5 August

Labour Day

Monday, 2 October

Monday, 1 October

 Monday, 7 October

Christmas Day public holiday

Monday, 25 December

Tuesday, 25 December

 Wednesday, 25 December

Boxing Day

Tuesday, 26 December

Wednesday, 26 December

 Thursday, 26 December

1 Applies to banks and certain financial institutions see Retail Trading Act 2008.
2 From 31/12/11 when Australia Day (26 January) falls on a Saturday or Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day as the following Monday will be declared a public holiday.
3 From 31/12/11, the Holiday Act provides for an extra public holiday to be added when New Year's Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a weekend.